We’ve just added a new feature to Twile that lets you control how other family members can contribute to your tree and timeline. Until now, people you invited could edit your family tree (which isn’t always what you’d want), but weren’t able to make changes to events on your timeline (though you might sometimes want them to).
When you invite people now, you’ll see a simple slider control that lets you specify whether that individual can add, edit or delete people on your tree and events on your timeline.
If you choose ‘Add’, they will be able to add people to your tree and add their own timeline events (or photos to yours), but won’t be able to change or remove anything you’ve added.
If you choose ‘Edit’, they will be able to add their own content and also make changes to what you’ve added to Twile – for example, correcting names, places or dates.
If you choose ‘Delete’, they will be able to add their own content, make changes to your people and events, but also remove people and events that you’ve added.
The permissions you grant your individual family members will only affect people and events you have added.
Once a family member has been invited, you can always change the permissions they have at a later date. You’ll find the same slider control inside the profile for each person on the tree.
Move your mouse over a person and choose ‘Profile’ to see these options.
As always, we’d love your thoughts on this new feature. Does this give you the control you need? Any suggestions on how to make this better? Please add a comment below or click the ‘Talk to us’ button when you’re logged into Twile.